Management Services Circular No: 44

My No.DMS/A/8/21 Department of Management Services General Treasury, Colombo 01. 10.03.2011.

All Secretaries to the Ministries,

## Payment of Research Allowances as per the Budget Proposals 2011

In accordance with the budget proposals 2011, a monthly research allowance at the rate of twenty five percent (25%) of the basic salary excluding allowances could be paid to University Lecturers and Senior Level Officers engaged in research work in the public sector, subject to the following provisions. (This allowance does not entail any right to the pension or to any other statutory allowance).

## 02. Officers Entitled to the Allowance

- I Lecturers and the senior level members of the academic staff of the universities who are in the permanent cadre.
- II "Senior Level Officers" in accordance with the definition stipulated in the Public Administration Circular No. 06/2006 or officers in the Government Corporations and Statutory Boards who have completed at least 10 years of permanent service in "Academic and Research Services" or in a higher post according to the Management Services Circular No.30.

## 03. Methodology

- (a) A proposal including the nature, time frame, and methodology of the research should be submitted to the Research Management Council/Committee mentioned in Para 04 and the approval of the said Council/ Committee for the research proposal should be obtained by the officers entitled to the research allowance as per Para 02.
- (b) The research allowance can be obtained with effect from 01.01.2011 subsequent to the submission of the interim research report relevant to the said proposal to the Research Management Council/Committee within six (06) months and having obtained the approval thereof.
- (c) Continuity of granting the research allowance at the end of two years will depend on the satisfaction of the Council /Committee with regard to publication of the final research report in an Internationally or Nationally Accepted Scientific Publication and/ or submission of the final research report to a relevant Symposium within the period of two years.

# 04. Research Management

(a) Research proposals of University Lecturers -

Research Committees accepted by the Senate of the relevant University.

- (b) Research proposals of the officers serving in the field of agriculture in the Public Service, Government Corporations and Statutory Boards - Sri Lanka Council for Agricultural Research Policy (CARP).
- (c) Research proposals submitted by the officers related to other fields The Research Supervision Committee established under the Ministry of Technology and Research comprised of the following officers or the Sub Committees appointed by the said Committee as required.
  - Mrs.Dhara Wijayatilake- Secretary to the Ministry of Technology and Research
  - Doctor T.R.C. Ruberu- Secretary to the Ministry of Health
  - Dr.R.H.S.Samaratunga- Secretary to the Ministry of Environment
  - Mrs.Malini Pieris- Secretary to the Ministry of Plantation Industries
  - Mr. Tilak Collure- Secretary to the Ministry of Industry and Commerce
  - Dr.Saman Kelegama- Executive Director, Institute of Policy Studies
  - Mr.B.Wijayaratne-Director, Sri Lanka Institute of Development Administration.
- 05. I. Research allowance shall not be paid in respect of research studies conducted prior to 28.02.2011.
  - II Research expenses should not be incurred from the provisions granted to the institutions from the Consolidated Fund.
  - III The research allowance should be incurred from the Expenditure Head No.1003 and in relation to Government Corporations and Statutory Boards, this research allowance should be borne from the relevant Expenditure Heads of salaries and other remunerations of each institution.
  - IV The research work expected by this Circular should not impede the duties of the permanent post.
- 06. This Circular is issued with the concurrence of the Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs, Ministry of Higher Education, Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Technology and Research.

Sgd. P.B.Jayasundera Secretary to the Treasury and the Ministry of Finance and Planning.

Copies to-

#### 1. Secretary to the President

- 2. Secretary to the Prime Minister
- 3. Auditor General
- 4. Secretary to the National Salaries and Cadre Commission
- 5. Secretary to the Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs
- 6. Secretary to the Ministry of Higher Education
- 7. Secretary to the Ministry of Technology and Research
- 8. Secretary to the Ministry of Agriculture.