

Management Services Circular: 05/2017

To Secretaries to Ministries Chairmen of Public Corporations, Statutory Boards and Fully Government Owned Companies

Payment of professional allowances for the Senior Level Officers of Corporations, Statutory Boards and fully Government Owned Companies

The Cabinet of Ministers at its meeting held on 15.08.2017 has decided to pay a Professional Allowance to the Senior Level Officers of Public Corporations, Statutory Boards and Fully Government Owned Companies with effect from 01.10.2017 subject to the conditions stipulated in para (02) below;

01. Monthly professional allowance payable

Category	Monthly allowance (Rs.)
Officers having an active service period less than 06 years	Rs. 3000/-
Officers having an active service period of 06 years or more but less than 11 years	Rs. 5000/-
Officers having an active service period of 11 years or more but less than 19 years	Rs. 10000/-
Officers having an active service period of 19 years or more	Rs. 15000/-

02. Conditions applicable to pay the aforesaid allowance

 The allowance should only be paid to the posts included in the Senior Level Under Employee Categorization stipulated in schedule III of the Management Services Circular No 02/2016

- II. The allowance should only be paid to the relevant officers of the institutions for which the salaries are paid under the Management Services Circular 02/2016
- III. This allowance shall only be entitled to the officers, who are not receiving any other special allowance other than the language proficiency allowance, transport allowance, risk allowance, telephone allowance, and the adjustment allowance and cost of living allowance which are paid as per the above circular.
- IV. In calculating the period of service in the senior level, the active service period that the officer has served in a senior level post in the relevant institution, should only be considered.

Sgd / R.H.S. Samarathunga

Secretary to the Treasury and Secretary to the Ministry of Finance and Mass Media

Copies:-

- 1. Secretary to the President
- 2. Secretary to the Prime Minister
- 3. Secretary to the Cabinet of Ministers
- 4. Auditor General
- 5. Secretary, National Salaries and Cadre Commission