| இදල් හා නුමසම්පාදන අමාතහාංශය நிதி, திட்டமிடல் அமைச்சு MINISTRY OF FINANCE AND PLANNING | | |
|--|--|---|
| මහලේකම් කාර්යාලය, කොළඹ 01. ශූ ලංකාව. | செயலகம், கொழும்பு 01. இலங்கை | The Secretariat, Colombo 01 Sri Lanka |
| කාර්යාලය அலுவலகம் Office | സ്ഥർ പെട്ടസ് Fax (94)-11 - 2449823 | லைவ் அமிப்பில் வெப் சைட் Website |
| ര്ദ്ദേഹം നാനാനം നാന നാന | හවේ අංකය உமது இல. Your No. | <mark>சேலை</mark> திகதி Date } 24.12.2010 |
| | | [Translation] |

Trade, Tariff and Investment Policy Circular No. 01(1)/2010

To: Secretaries to Ministries Chief Secretaries of the Provincial Councils

<u>Issuing of Motor Vehicle Permits on Concessionary Terms</u> <u>General Instructions</u>

Your attention is drawn to the following instructions in recommending applications to issue Concessionary Motor Vehicle Permits in terms of Trade, Tariff and Investment Policy Circular No. 01/2010 dated 10.12.2010.

02. In order to be eligible in terms of the 01 (a), (b), (c) and (d) of the Circular, Officers should have completed **six (06)** years of service at a "Senior Level" holding an Executive Post, while in order to be eligible in terms of the 01 (e), (f), (g) and (h) of the Circular, officers should have completed **twelve years (12)** of service in a "Senior Level" holding an Executive Post.

03. In terms of 02.01 (b) of the circular, brand new or less than one year used cars, jeeps, station wagons and cabs, which are principally designed for the transport of persons, classifiable in HS Heading 87.03, are applicable.

1

04. The period of usage is determined, in accordance to the Gazette Notification No.1681/14 dated 22. 11. 2010, by applying the period from the date of first registration to the date of shipment (date of Bill of Lading)

05. The Sri Lanka Customs will take action to recover, Value Added Tax, Port and Airport Development Levy, Nation Building Tax and a certain percentage of Excise Duty in accordance to the order made under the Section 03 of the Excise (Special Provisions) Act, in order to match with the amount of tax to be paid as per the table below, in respect of vehicles imported or purchased under this scheme

| Vehicle Type and Maximum Cylinder Capacity (Petrol/Diesel) | Percentage of Duty/Tax Payable on Customs Value (CIF basis) |
|---|--|
| 1000 cc | 50 |
| 1600 cc | 55 |
| 2000 cc | 60 |
| 2600 cc | 70 |

06. An officer handing over such an application to the relevant Head of Department, shall complete the attached Application Form in the English language (to facilitate computerized processing) and submit the same in an envelope marked "Application for a Vehicle Permit on Concessionary Terms" on the top left hand corner, and addressed to the "Director General, Trade, Tariff and Investment Policy Department, 3rd Floor, General Treasury, Colombo 1".

07. The relevant Head of Department shall after verifying the accuracy of the contents of each application and while ensuring that the National Identity Card Number has been stated correctly and the required eligibility criteria has been fulfilled, hand over such application to the Secretary to the relevant line Ministry or a senior officer authorized by such Secretary, in that regard.

08. Applications certified by the relevant line Ministries should be submitted to the "Director General, Trade, Tariff and Investment Policy Department, 3rd Floor, General Treasury, Colombo 1", only by post and applicants should refrain from handing over such applications.

2

09. Applications will be processed on a first come first serve basis, having allocated serial numbers.

10. The Director General of Customs has made arrangements to set up a Special Unit to facilitate the clearance of vehicles in terms of this scheme.

11. Any issues concerning to Customs or Institutions in relation to this Circular, you may contact Deputy Director- Ms. S.H.D.P. Kaluthanthri on Telephone No. 011 – 2484930 / Email <u>admin@ttipd.treasury.gov.lk</u>

P.B. Jayasundera Secretary to the Treasury and Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Planning

1.

Copies to:

- Secretary to the President
- 2. Secretary to the Prime Minister
- 3. Secretary to the Cabinet
- 4. Auditor General
- 5. Commissioner General, Department of Motor Traffic
- 6. Director General, Department of Customs